Pen and Ink Pet Portraits – My New Site for Animal-lovers :)

 Fridays Just went Furry!

Pen and Ink Portrait Artist's Desk - Portraits of Dogs, Cats, Horses, Tigers…everything furry - other animals and wildlife.

My dog and I are super-happy to present my Pen and Ink Portraits Gallery and a Furry New Website to our readers.

Dear Friends, I welcome you to the new space 🙂

Pen and Ink portraits of dogs, cats, pups, kittens, and wildlife in pen and ink - created by shafali

Click to View the Pet Portraits Gallery.

Pen and Ink Portraits of Two Handsome Dogs:

Here are a couple of Pen and Ink pet portraits that I did recently. View more at my Pet Portrait Art Gallery.

The English Mastiff (The Gentle Giant)

The English Mastiff is one of the largest dog-breeds in the world. They are tall and big and heavy, but they have the sweetest temperament of all. They were bred to be guard-dogs, but they love to spend time indoors with other family members. I’ve written a detailed post on mastiffs to accompany the portrait. Read the post and see the portrait closer up here.

Portrait of the English Mastiff Dog - Pet and Wildlife Portraits in Pen and Ink by Shafali

 

The Cairn Terrier

The Cairn Terrier is, of course, a terrier; and that makes him an earth-dog – a vermin-hunter par excellence. He like his other terrier cousins, was bred to hunt foxes and other small animals including rats; but the Cairn Terrier of today is a family dog. Read more about him and view his portrait in more detail here.

Portrait of the Cairn Terrier Dog - Pet and Wildlife Portraits in Pen and Ink by Shafali

What made me grow fur?

Actually, I’ve always been furry close…I mean very close to dogs and cats. It is said that people are either cat persons or dog persons, but not both. Well, I am both…and more. I love dogs and cats with equal intensity…and every once in a while I experience a crush on a mouse, a lizard, a chameleon, a squirrel…the list is long. I guess I am an animal lover, because that makes me real cozy furry!

This Furry Artist is Open to Pet Portrait Commissions now 🙂

Now that I’ve gone furry, I am taking Pet Portrait Commissions. If you are interested in hiring me to draw the portrait of your furry son or daughter, and you don’t mind my falling in love with him or her, contact me here 🙂

 

 

3 comments on “Pen and Ink Pet Portraits – My New Site for Animal-lovers :)

  1. you say: “Actually, I’ve always been furry close…I mean very close to dogs and cats. It is said that people are either cat persons or dog persons, but not both. Well, I am both…and more. I love dogs and cats with equal intensity…and every once in a while I experience a crush on a mouse, a lizard, a chameleon, a squirrel…the list is long. I guess I am an animal lover, because that makes me real cozy furry!”

    I am neither… what does that make me? 😦 No, I’m not an animal hater, but neither am I an animal lover… And since I don’t like humans either… I must be a sociopath! Find me a cave (with wi-fi) inside a mountain, and I’ll live happily ever after in my lonely sanctuary (yes, birds are welcome to sing outside of my cave if they feel like it. Yes, even crows.)! 😀

    • You are good. From the perspective of cats and dogs, there are three kinds of humans. Those who love them, those who are neutral, and those who torture them. I hate the torturers, but I can be friends with the other two 🙂 When you are animal-neutral you don’t harm them – and that’s what they desire. They want to be left alone. We’ve encroached upon their land, we’ve crowded them into smaller spaces, we kill them when they mistakenly wander into what we call “our” zones, because we brand them as dangerous. Is there a more dangerous animal than man…I wonder. We are the only animals that kill our own kind…aren’t we? We kill in the name of religion, country, community, caste, and even love; and we then proceed to rationalize the killing by telling ourselves that it’s only right to do so. Animals can’t philosophize, or they’d have ample reasons to seek revenge; we are fortunate that most are innocent of such baser feelings.

      I am glad you are indifferent to animals – actually, that makes you a much nicer person than others. You are a Buddhist with respect to animals. You’ve chosen the middle-path or the madhya-maarg. It will bring you peace.

      • 🙂 When I see humans destroy nests because the birds shit on their precious cars, I want to smash those beloved four wheels to pulp…
        And when humans treat animals like… humans – again, I want to beat them really hard. What are they thinking? 😦
        Live and let live, right? I’m definitely not a human-lover… everything you said is totally right! 🙂

Leave your footprints behind :)

